BLA sealIn 1930 a group of town residents formed the nonprofit Bethany Library Association to bring library services to the growing community. All Association members are volunteers with connections to the town. The Association operates and maintains the Clark Memorial Library using funds provided by annual grants from the town of Bethany and the state of Connecticut and by income from endowments provided by many generous townspeople and local entities. Each year the Association conducts an Annual Giving Drive to solicit funds to ensure delivery of the library’s mission.

The Association’s emerging concern is sustainability. Recognizing that the Clark Memorial Library provides a variety of services to patrons, the Association meets on a regular basis to review, develop and implement strategies to nurture and grow the library. These meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:30 p.m. The public is invited to attend.


Members are nominated by current Association members or the Library Director. We also accept community nominations.  The Association votes on nominations. Members participate on committees. Committees include, but are not limited to, the following: Governance, Development, and Maintenance and Grounds. The Association has four elected officers: President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.


Over the last six years the Bethany Library Association has successfully steward library finances through our fundraising efforts and by continued collaboration with the Town of Bethany.  Our annual grant from the Town of Bethany and a capital grant enabled us to regrade the library property to prevent internal flooding.  These monies also assisted us in renovating our meeting room.  We are now able to offer a variety of programming, including art exhibitions, and to serve as a public meeting space as necessary.   The library is now open 40 hours a week.  And, we are proud to announce that for the first time in our history we have a full-time children’s librarian.
To continue moving the mission of the library forward, we are engaged in ongoing nonprofit board education and development.

Current Members

Elizabeth Thornquist, President  
Jennifer Turner, Vice President
Calico Harington, Secretary
Sheila Lane, Treasurer
Autumn Cloud – Ingram
Meghan Gallagher
Mark Hawes
Lena MacDonald
Timothy Niedermann
 John Pellicano
Kathryn Sylvester
Jack Tajamajer
If you would like to attend a Bethany Library Association meeting please call 203 393-2103 to confirm meeting location.